Central America is a region of incredible diversity, from its white-sand beaches and lush rainforests to its rich cultural heritage and adventure opportunities. And now, with the CA-4 Agreement, travelling to and within Central America has become even easier for tourists. In this post, we’ll explore what the CA-4 Agreement is, what it means for travellers to Central America, and how it affects your ability to move freely within the region.

Here is a summary of each country included in the CA-4 Agreement:

El Salvador

Known for its vibrant culture, colonial cities, and stunning landscapes, El Salvador is an excellent destination for those looking to experience Central American culture and history.


Home to ancient Mayan ruins and traditional villages, Guatemala offers a glimpse into the region’s rich cultural heritage. It is also known for its beautiful landscapes, including volcanoes and lakes.


Honduras is a paradise for beach lovers with its white-sand beaches and crystal-clear waters. The Bay Islands are particularly popular and offer a wide range of water activities, such as diving and snorkelling.


Nicaragua is a country of contrasts, from its colonial cities and stunning lakes to its active volcanoes.

What is the CA-4 Agreement?

Now, let’s define what the CA-4 Agreement is. This Agreement, also known as the CA-4 Border Control Agreement, allows El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, and Nicaragua citizens to travel freely within the borders of these four countries without needing a visa. Suppose you’re a citizen of one of these countries. In that case, you can travel to the other three countries without going through the visa application process.

This Agreement is a significant development for travellers to Central America, as it dramatically simplifies moving between countries in the region. Before the CA-4 Agreement, travellers must go through the visa application process for each country they intend to visit. This could be time-consuming and costly, and it often deterred people from travelling to multiple countries in Central America.

The CA-4 Agreement also increases the length of stay for travellers within the region. Citizens of these four countries can now stay in any of the other three countries for up to 90 days without needing a visa. It’s important to note that the 90-day stay applies to your time across all four countries. It means you have less than 90 days in each. It’s essential to plan your trip accordingly and always have your passport and immigration documents with you.


Zahn is a travel junkie born and raised on the North Shore of Auckland, New Zealand. Zahn spent two years in South Korea where she met Addison in 2018. She has visited 17 countries and is on a mission to literally work her way around the rest.

Write A Comment

Pin It